Paraty was founded around 1600. The first settlement was on the other side of the river-Pereque Açú, Morro da Vila Velha where they erected a church in San Roque and the hill where today we have the Forte Defensor Perpetuo.
Around 1640 the Indians who lived in what is now Paraty was expelled and the city moved to the present place, founded on land donated by paratiana Maria Jacome de Mello, who in turn demanded that they build a chapel to the saint for his devotion, N. Mrs. dos Remedios, who became the new patron saint of the town.
The urban plan has been established definitively in Paraty from 1726, then the second mold modern military engineering, with wider streets and floor plans fan-shaped or half moon.
The strong influence of freemasonry in engineering and architecture is revealed through masonic symbols printed in fornt of many houses, on the corners where there are three columns in quarry (washed stone) form a hypothetical triangle masonic symbol per excellence.
Paraty is a National Historic Patrimony since 1966 and is claiming that his knowledge as world cultural heritage.
Av. Roberto Silveira, 11 - Centro - Paraty-RJ - CEP: 23970-000
Tele / fax: (24) 3371-1327 / (24) 3371-1428 / (24) 3371-2651 / (24) 3371.6112 / (24) 9966.5536